The following are types of residential assistance that can be provided:

  1. Own Home/Family Home – provided to individuals residing in their own residence or the residence of their natural or adoptive family, or to individuals receiving foster care services from the Texas Department of Protective and Regulatory Services.
  2. Host Home/Companion Care – provided in a private residence by a foster or companion care provider who lives in the residence and who is not providing these services pursuant to a contract with the Texas Department of Protective and Regulatory Services.
  3. Supervised Living – is provided in a residence in which the HCS program provider holds a property interest. Supervised living is provided by residential assistance providers who offer services and supports as needed by individuals and who are present in the residence during normal sleeping hours.
  4. Residential Support – provided to individuals by daily shift staff or by an individual staff member with periodic relief staff.

Residential assistance includes the following:

  • Providing direct personal assistance with activities of daily living (grooming, eating, bathing, dressing, and personal hygiene)
  • Assisting with meal planning and preparation
  • Securing and providing transportation
  • Assisting with housekeeping 
  • Assisting with ambulation and mobility
  • Reinforcing counseling and therapy activities
  • Assisting with medications and the performance of tasks delegated by a Registered Nurse
  • Supervising individuals’ safety and security
  • Facilitating inclusion in community activities, use of natural supports, social interaction, participation in leisure activities, and development of socially valued behaviors
  • Providing habilitation, exclusive of Day Habilitation
seniors with caregiver